URNS at Cooler Gallery

The selected group of artists would each create one urn. Urns often have a base, a chamber, a thinned neck, and a cover - but the name refers more to function than form. Urns have been dated back to about 7000 BC and been used to house human ashes, possessions of the deceased, or used in burial rituals. Gallery patrons will encounter the works lining the walls of the room - evoking a burial chamber.

WHEN
Opening evening on Thursday, September 6th, 7-10pm
September 7th - 9th
Exhibition runs through October 27, 2018

WHERE
Cooler Gallery
22 Waverly Ave
Navy Yard, Brooklyn, NY 11205

Cooler Gallery URN show.png
Cooler Gallery URN artists.png

PARTICIPATING ARTISTS
Julianne Ahn  @objectandtotem
Jenny Hata Blumenfield @ablueandwhite
John Born @humblematter
Huy Bui @plantincity
Steven Bukowski @stevenbukowski
Emily Counts @emilyraecounts
Demetria Chappo @demedemedeme
CW+T @charliewhiskeytango
Chiaozza @chiaozza
Laura Donohue @lastminuteitems
Josephine Heilpern @josephinenoel
Monty J @peb80z80
Sophie Lou Jacobsen @sophielou_sophielou
Doug Johnston @hawktrainer
Jason Kachadourian @jasonkachadourian
Pat Kim @patkimpatkim
Kin & Company @kinandcompany
Gracelee Lawrence @gleeleelawlee
Forrest Lewinger @workadayhandmade
Rosie Li @rosielistudio
Phoenix Lindsey-Hall @phoenixlindseyhall
Jemila MacEwan @hrumphpfft
Lincoln Mayne @lincolnmayne
Ian McDonald @studio_ianmcdonald
Elise McMahon @likemindedobjects
Daniel Michalik @danielmichalik
Brett Miller @el_miller
Yuko Nishikawa @yuko_nishikawa
Michele Quan @mquanstudio
Mari Ogihara #mariogihara
Aelfie Oudghiri @aelfie_
Jessica Perelman @jessica_perelman
Mike Perry @mikeperrystudio
Chad Phillips @chadnyc
Signe Pierce @signepierce
Devon Reina @drdevon and Peaches Harrison @thefuzzyfruit
Minh Singer @minhsinger
Farrah Sit @farrahsit
Erin Lynn Smith @erinlynnsmith
Lorien Stern @lorienstern
Joey Watson @neutral_karma
Wentrcek Zebulon @wentrcek_zebulon
Pilar Wiley @pattern_language
Michael Yarinsky @myarinsky
Bari Ziperstein @bzippy
Jackie Zdrojeski @bodylanguage_shop